The Texas Payday Law
The Texas Payday Law is part of the Texas Labor Code, and it mandates how employers must pay their employees. It also provides a way for employees to file unpaid wage claims. In Texas, all private business entities are subject to the Texas Payday Law, and it covers all employees. Public or government entities are not subject to the law, and independent contractors are not covered either.
An important part of the Texas Payday Law is that it outlines the procedure for paying employees. Regarding pay periods, exempt employees must be paid at least once a month, and non-exempt employees must be paid at least twice a month. If you are on a semi-monthly pay schedule, the pay periods must be as close to equal as possible. For example, many companies pay their employees on the first and the fifteenth of each month.
Regarding the delivery of your paycheck, the Texas Payday Law states that:
- Wages must be paid in U.S. currency unless other arrangements have been agreed upon by the employee in writing
- Wages must be delivered no later than payday; wages can be delivered at the employee’s place of work, via registered mail or direct deposit, or to another person authorized by the employee
- If an employee quits, retires, or otherwise resigns, their final paycheck must be delivered on the next associated payday, according to the company’s regular pay schedule
- If an employee is involuntarily discharged from their position, their final paycheck must be delivered within six calendar days of their discharge
To discuss your paycheck dispute with an experienced attorney, call my firm in Tyler at (903) 412-3788 or contact me online.
How to Claim Unpaid Wages
Under the Texas Payday Law, you can file an unpaid wage claim with the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC). The claims process is fairly straightforward and can be accomplished online. While this is all you need in some cases, filing a claim with the TWC is not always the ideal solution when dealing with more complicated paycheck disputes, and it is limited in scope. For example, you only have 180 days to file a claim for unpaid wages. Depending on your situation, it may be more beneficial for you to file a lawsuit.
Before filing a claim with the TWC, you should discuss your situation with me, an experienced lawyer familiar with handling paycheck dispute cases in Texas.
If your paycheck dispute lawsuit is successful, you may be able to recover:
- Unpaid wages
- Related losses
- Punitive damages
- Legal fees
- Attorney fees
- Other associated costs
It’s Time to Resolve Your Paycheck Dispute
When dealing with a paycheck dispute, the context of your circumstances will determine your best course of legal action. As an attorney, I truly care about my clients, and I work hard to understand every angle of their case. My attention to detail is coupled with my belief that all employees deserve justice in the workplace. Whether you didn’t receive the overtime wages you are owed, or your employer is withholding your final paycheck, Hommel Law Firm can offer you the guidance you seek.
If you live in Tyler and are struggling with a paycheck dispute, Hommel Law Firm is here for you. Connect with me online or call me at (903) 412-3788.
Motor Vehicle Accident with 18 Wheeler $175K Gross, $114K Net Recovery$175,000, $2,142 Expenses, $60,500 Attorney's Fees
Workplace Injury & Wrongful Termination $175K Gross, $102K Net Recovery$175,000 Gross, $102,000 Net Recovery for Client
Oil Field Workers Wage & Hour Collective Action $780K Gross, $115K Net Recovery$780,000 Gross, $10,500 Expenses, $253,833 Attorney's Fees
Oilfield Services Overtime - 2 employees Settlement
Recovery of $95,000 in unpaid overtime for two oilfield service workers
Police Shooting Death $325K Gross, $189K Net Recovery$325,000, $24,692 Expenses, $120,123 Attorney's Fees
Wage & Hour Collective Action $1.375M Gross, $800K Net Recovery$1.375 Million Gross, $800,000 Net Recovery to Clients
Poultry Plant Workers Wage & Hour Collective Action $3.12M gross, $2.24M Net Recovery$3.12 Million gross, $20,000 Expenses, $750,000 Attorney's Fees
Sexual Harassment By Supervisor $95K Gross, $66.5K Net Recovery$95,000 Gross, $1,830 Expenses, $37,268 Attorney's Fees
Police Shooting Death $140K Gross, $90K Net Recovery$140,000 Gross, $14,892 Expenses, $50,043 Attorney's Fees