The Minimum Wage in Texas
Under the federal guidelines of the FLSA, each state in our country is allowed to set its own wage and hour laws, whether these are higher or lower than the wages that have been set by the federal government. In the state of Texas, we utilize the exact wage set by the federal government, which is $7.25 an hour – a wage that was effected on July 24, 2009. If an employer tries to pay you in an amount of hours that brings down the minimum wage, I can demonstrate the illegal nature of this act.
Other Wage & Hour Violations
In addition to violations of the minimum wage, I can also help defend your rights against other illegal activity.
Employers often violate wage rights in a number of ways, including:
- Refusing to pay time and a half overtime to employees considered “non-exempt” who are working more than 40 hours a week (including those on a salary)
- Forcing their employees to also use their meals and breaks as opportunities to work for free
- Using tips to pay employees who are not tipped, rather than giving them to the staff who rightfully earned them during their hours
- Improperly designating some employees as “exempt” or “nonexempt” to pay less
- Refusing to pay overtime to independent contractors
- Misclassifying employee roles to avoid having to pay for their benefits
Knowledge & Experience
Pursuing a case about wage and hour laws disputes can be particularly challenging, just because the laws themselves are so complex. There are many distinct nuances for exempt and nonexempt classifications, and employers will try to excuse away their behavior.
Fortunately, the Hommel Law Firm has both the knowledge and the experience to assess whether their information is false or even illegal. A wage and hour law attorney in Tyler can even check to make sure your job has not been reclassified just so your employer could pay you at a lesser wage and overtime.